T is for Twitter (the Sequel)

TaslI meant to wait until the first of the year to make this decision but I just couldn’t. I’m quitting Twitter. Yes, I know, I was only on it for 9 days. Here’s why I’m leaving:

  1. Too many tweets. When I signed up to Twitter and started following people/organizations, I purposely only followed those who seemed to not tweet every few seconds. But still, every few minutes I’d get an alert telling me someone tweeted something. Usually it was something silly like “eating PB&J. #yummy” or “join us on…for a discussion of…” So I removed the alerts from my phone and email. That just resulted in a long list of tweets I had to read whenever I signed in.
  2. It was a burden. Since the whole thing about tweeting was to get things in real time, I felt obligated to sign in frequently or to stay logged in whenever I was online. This just made me feel like I had to constantly be looking to make sure I was “up to date” on everything. In other words, a big ol’ burden.
  3. I wasn’t live. Another problem with the “up to date” thing was that it seemed to require that I have access to live TV if I wanted to join in a conversation. I don’t have cable and where I live, you can’t get a good signal over the airwaves. So I get my TV on the internet, usually a day or so after something airs. By then, the conversation is over.
  4.  Irrelevant or repeated information. A lot of tweets seem to be about things I could care less about. While I enjoy knowing that a stranger also likes the same TV shows or charitable causes I do, I don’t care to know how they feel about the color red. And I followed a lot of the same organizations I “like” on Facebook or people who write blogs I enjoy. While most of the bloggers made an effort to differentiate their tweets from their blogs, the organizations didn’t. This resulted in a lot of repeated info.
  5. I started to dislike some celebrities. I’ll admit it, I followed a few celebrities. The problem was, some of them came off in tweets as having an attitude. And not the kinda attitude I appreciate. I’m sure they meant it in a good way, but it came across as kinda weird and was making me think of them differently. Of course, not all of the celebrities did this. Some of them were just as funny, gracious, and intelligent as I imagined them to be. But I prefer all of my celebrities to be the fantasy creatures I make up in my head, not the human beings they are in real life.
  6. Hate-mongering. I purposely followed Pope Francis and read what other people tweeted back. And I was appalled. I’m sensitive enough to hate language in real life and through the media; I don’t need to read it in a forum that is supposed to be about public discussion.
  7. I felt like I was yelling into a void. I did tweet a bit. Sometimes something just as vapid as I complain about above. Sometimes something with substance. But it didn’t feel like a conversation.
  8. I was bored. Maybe I’m just too picky. Or maybe I only like to have a conversation with people I know or who I expect to say something interesting. Or maybe Twitter’s just not the forum for me.
  9. It gave me anxiety. For all of the above reasons.

I think maybe I expected more than Twitter could give me. I wanted to have conversations with people about interesting things. But what I got was a lot of people asking celebrities to tweet them, celebrities tweeting about their favorite makeup artists or newest projects, and hate language.

What I do know is that I probably didn’t give it long enough or didn’t look in the right places. Maybe someday I’ll try Twitter again; hopefully when I can give it more attention or when I’m in a different place. Until then, my only social media experience will be Facebook and this blog.

Question: Should I set up a Facebook page connected with this blog? If I did, I’d have links to articles about mental health, cats, pretty pictures, etc, as well as the usual notifications of blog posts and status updates. Tell me what you think in the comments.

Leave a Reply

