R is for Random Questions

r2Hello Readers! I’m gonna do something different in this post. I know it’s the end of the year and I’m probably supposed to be writing a post evaluating my last year and promising to keep resolutions, but I just don’t feel like writing about those things. So I’m just gonna answer a bunch of “getting to know you” kinda questions. Some are questions people ask on forums, some are questions I just thought of, and some are from that interview show called Inside the Actor’s Studio. Here goes:

 

1. What one thing could you not do as a child that you can do now?

I can drive a car. My family was very traditional and skills/chores were divided by gender. My brother mowed the lawn and got taught how to drive at an early age. I did the dishes and was expected to be a passenger. Now I can drive a car and I mostly enjoy it. Except when I have to drive in a major city; too many people drive like maniacs there.

2. Do you have a motto?

Other than “breathe”, not really. Sometimes I repeat after Dory in Finding Nemo and say “just keep

Image from disney.com

Image from disney.com

swimming, just keep swimming” but that’s usually when I’m frustrated with myself.

3. Favorite ice cream flavor?

Chocolate, of course.

4. Where would you like to travel and why?

I’d like to travel to every state in the US, just to say I’ve done it. I’d like to go to every country in Great Britain, because that’s my heritage and because I’m fascinated by its history. Finally, I’d like to go the Vatican and the Holy Land, because I’m Catholic!

5. Ever met a famous person?

Nope.

6. Favorite color(s)?

Purple and blue. Sometimes green.

7. What’s the weather like outside right now?

It’s winter and we just had a day of above freezing temps followed by one of below freezing temps after a few weeks of snow, ice, and below zero temps. So all surfaces are an unpredictable combo of snow and ice (both visible and invisible) and the air is cold enough to see your breath.

8. When you were a kid, what did you want to do (as a job) when you grew up? If it changed, why did it?

I wanted to be (in order) President, a nurse, a teacher, an actress, a dancer, a writer, an interior decorator, a Mom. I changed my mind about being President when I was told that “girls don’t become President.” I decided not to become a nurse because I was sick of hospitals from having to be there with my Mom so much. I decided I wanted to become a teacher cause I couldn’t think of anything else to be when I was in grade school. I decided I wanted to be an actor/dancer/writer in grade school. I dropped dancer in high school when I found out that dancers were skinny and usually started doing it professionally, if they were female, by the time they were in their teens, so I was too far behind. I gave up acting when I got to college and realized that I’d always want to kill myself more than I wanted to have a career as a minor character (fat, depressed gals are rarely the stars of anything). The writing thing has stuck around. I wanted to be an interior decorator in high school then realized I had a hard time telling the difference between shades of peach. I wanted to be a Mom when my internal clock started ticking in my late twenties, it stopped ticking in my thirties.

9. Sports?

No thanks. I do like watching figure skating though. And dog agility competitions, if I can ever find one to watch.

10. Last movie you watched?

Image from Wikipedia

Image from Wikipedia

Bourne Identity. Matt Damon is my movie boyfriend.

11. What book(s) are you reading?

I’ve got two going on right now: The Holy Land: an Armchair Pilgrimage by Fr. Mitch Pacwa and And the Miss Ran Away with the Rake by Elizabeth Boyle. Usually I have three, one spiritual, one Romance, and one self-help or improving. I’m taking a self-help/improving break right now cause of the holidays.

12. If you had $5 million to spend in 5 days, but with the clause that you could not spend any of it on yourself or your family, what would you do with it?

Probably divide it into equal amounts and give it to various charities: animals in general, a cat rescue, mental health in general, depression research, the homeless, medical research, literacy, a couple of scholarship charities, international disaster relief, my local church, my local public library, my local mental health facility, and a couple of local food pantries.

13. If you had $5 million to spend, but with the clause that you could only spend it on yourself or your family, no saving it, what would you do with it?

I’d split $1 million in cash between various members of the family (my brother/sister-in-law, my nieces, an aunt and a cousin) for them to use however they wanted. Then with the remainder I’d pay off my brother’s house, buy myself a house, furnish said house, buy as many books as possible, then take a trip around the US and the world.

14. Were you named after anyone?

My parents decided that my Mom could name my brother and my Dad could name me. My Dad had a friend named Bonnie and always liked the name so that became my first name. My Dad’s family has a tradition where middle names are family names, so my middle name is my great-grandmother’s first name and an aunt’s middle name.

15. Do you still have your tonsils?

Yes.

16. Red or pink?

Pink, I hate red, but not baby-pink. I’m a woman, not a child.

17. Glasses or contacts?

Glasses. If God had intended we put things in our eyes our impulse to blink would be less pronounced.

18. What color is your car?

Red, but only because it was the only car in the model I wanted available in my area. Yes, I get the irony.

19. Hobbies, besides blogging?

Sleeping, eating, reading, crafts. I made a couple of ornaments for Christmas gifts this year.

20. Even or uneven?

Even. I hate it when things are crooked, even if it’s meant to be that way artistically.

Image from bravotv.com

Image from bravotv.com

And now, the Inside the Actor’s Studio questions:

1. What is your favorite word?

Peace.

2. What is your least favorite word?

Terminate. As in “we terminated the employee.” Really? You killed the employee?

3. What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?

Possibilities. I like to imagine what would happen if someone had made a different decision.

4. What turns you off?

Inflexibility and rudeness.

5. What is your favorite curse word?

Sh*t. Because when people use it, it usually means exactly that.

6. What sound or noise do you love?

That inhalation that people make when they’ve experienced wonder.

7. What sound or noise do you hate?

Engines, especially lawn mower and leaf-blower engines.

8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?

This would be a better question if I had a profession. Umm, let’s assume right now my profession is something in customer service. I’d like to try, just once, to be a tour guide in one of those living history museums. Just to say I did.

9. What profession would you not like to do?

Anything to do with garbage, picking it up, throwing it out, moving it around, etc. It’s just gross dealing with smelly stuff.

10. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

I love you! and Great job!

new years

Happy New Year to all who celebrate!

Blessings to all of you.

Be well.

Leave a Reply

